The Need To Be (1971)


Malaysian Arts Theatre Group presents The Need To Be

Malaysian Arts Theatre Group

mempersembahkan The Need To Be


  • Playwright:Patrick Yeoh
  • Original Local Script:Yes
  • Company Name:Malaysian Arts Theatre Group (MATG)
  • Date:1971
  • Venue:Experimental Theatre, Universiti Malaya
  • Language:English
  • Director:Syed Alwi
  • Lighting Designer:Harjit Singh
  • Property Master:Latifah Tan Mutalib, Sony Insun
  • Make-up Artist:V. Ramalingam
  • Principal Cast:

    Hoh Swee Lan as Ma Wong
    Patrick Koay as Pa Wong
    Janey Loh as Mei Lan
    Oh Guan Seng as Kok Weng
    Susan Wong as Meng Soh
    Fung Chui Lin as An Lan
    Hilary Tham as Sin Che’h

  • Ensemble:

    Leslie Dawson, Rahim Razali, and rest of cast

  • Producer:Syed Alwi
  • Stage Manager:Tan Mutalib
  • Additional Notes:

    According to the programme, “The Need To Be” was the winner of the MATG Playwriting Contest 1969, with a RM1,000 prize money donated by The Asia Foundation.